The Student Room Group

Computer science VS Software engineering

Hello,
Can someone tell me what the difference if you complete a computer science degree VS a software engineering degree, are the available jobs similar for both ?

Which one is the better option to do in terms of what is going to be in demand in the future?

Also is the modules taught by each university the same, the modules for example for software engineering is it the same /similar for each university, or does the module being taught vary a lot for each university?
Reply 1
Hi there. I have a BSC(Hons) Computer Science and an MSc Software Engineering, so can hopefully answer your question. Computer science is much more rounded, and covers more areas of computing. Not only does it include programming, but also things like networks, databases, security and system implementations. Software engineering on the other hand is more focuses on programming, from requirements gathering to testing. It should also include security. Both degrees can lead to a career in software development if that is what interests you, but computer science can assist in careers in wider sector. So it really depends on your areas of interest and where your future career aspirations. University modules will vary for each degree, but will cover very similar subjects. Therefore, have a look at a few courses and see the modules associated with each. Most will have core and optional modules so you will be able to tailor the course to the areas of interest.
Reply 2
Original post by JohnB1