The Student Room Group

Feeling a bit lost career wise

I've been working as an LSA for the past 2 years and I'm due to start a different role in the school in September. It was always my plan to do a PGCE but idk, as I've gotten older and really thought about it, I've realised I don't want to do one. I do go back and forth a bit with it. I think in my head, in dreamland, I'd be able to do it so I convince myself I'm going to. But then realistically I can't manage a class at all. I'm not naturally loud, nor do I like speaking for prolonged periods of time. This has just made me feel lost because, as I said above, I've been so back and forth with it.

I also can't say that I actually want to do this new job in September. In fact, I don't want to go back at all. It's an amazing school with great kids (the best you could wish for) so I'm sat here thinking do I even want to work in education anymore? But then if I don't, I have no idea what I actually want to do. Has anyone been in this situation and did you ever work out what it is you actually wanted to do?
Original post by SophiaAlexx
I've been working as an LSA for the past 2 years and I'm due to start a different role in the school in September. It was always my plan to do a PGCE but idk, as I've gotten older and really thought about it, I've realised I don't want to do one. I do go back and forth a bit with it. I think in my head, in dreamland, I'd be able to do it so I convince myself I'm going to. But then realistically I can't manage a class at all. I'm not naturally loud, nor do I like speaking for prolonged periods of time. This has just made me feel lost because, as I said above, I've been so back and forth with it.