The Student Room Group

i don’t know what to do

I’m in year 13, i was planning to take a Gap year take ucat and re apply since i did bad in year 12.
i just got my results today and i got A B C.
i studied so hard for all 3, chemistry mostly actually- but panicked in the chem for both exams.

I knew i messed up chem (C) but i didn’t think it was like that & now i don’t know what to do since like 80% of the medical schools say you need at least A BB or BBB/AAC/AAB to resit and then get AAA

is there still any point/hope of me trying to get in? idk what to do or if i should try remark chem or see what exact mark i got

pls help
Reply 1
Congratulations on your results. They may not be the ones you need for medicine today and I am very sorry if you have lost out on an offer.

What is worth congratulating is the fact that they do give you options. You do still have the option to resit and to reapply, even if it’s to a reduced pool of schools. You have the option of doing something else entirely or something else that’s related to medicine, either academically or vocationally.

You have the option of doing nothing in the immediate term and heading into work and maybe a gap year instead. You may have the opportunity to apply to universities abroad. You do have options.

There’s nothing wrong with picking up the phone and calling some clearing options. Or of getting onto indeed and applying for some jobs. They both keep options open without you committing to anything completely.
Reply 2
Original post by hhhhheeeee
I’m in year 13, i was planning to take a Gap year take ucat and re apply since i did bad in year 12.
i studied so hard for all 3, chemistry mostly actually- but panicked in the chem for both exams.

I knew i messed up chem (C) but i didn’t think it was like that & now i don’t know what to do since like 80% of the medical schools say you need at least A BB or BBB/AAC/AAB to resit and then get AAA