The Student Room Group

Which program is better for self-study IB DP or A-levels with additional subjects?

Hi, I am currently preparing self-taught for my matura exams.

I finished some of the subjects this summer. Now I'm thinking about extending them with an international degree.

For the IB I would choose

1. english language SL
2. chinese ab initio or russian ab initio SL
3. geography SL
4. physics HL
5th/6th mathematics AA and mathematics AI, both HL
7. music HL

At A-Levels

English, mathematics, further mathematics, physics, biology, chemistry, geography, music and at most Chinese or Russian.

my aim is to study astronomy and astrophysics. with chinese or russian, i hope to increase my future opportunities.

What would you recommend?
Original post by Timshal
Hi, I am currently preparing self-taught for my matura exams.

I finished some of the subjects this summer. Now I'm thinking about extending them with an international degree.

For the IB I would choose

1. english language SL
2. chinese ab initio or russian ab initio SL
3. geography SL
4. physics HL
5th/6th mathematics AA and mathematics AI, both HL
7. music HL

At A-Levels

English, mathematics, further mathematics, physics, biology, chemistry, geography, music and at most Chinese or Russian.

my aim is to study astronomy and astrophysics. with chinese or russian, i hope to increase my future opportunities.

What would you recommend?

You can't self-study for the IBDP. You need to study it in an IB school, as there are a lot of requirements (teaching hours, supervision, CAS etc) that need to be fulfilled for your diploma to be awarded.
Reply 2
Original post by emilyalexandria
You can't self-study for the IBDP. You need to study it in an IB school, as there are a lot of requirements (teaching hours, supervision, CAS etc) that need to be fulfilled for your diploma to be awarded.