The Student Room Group

How long will it take to get ABRSM Grade 8 on the piano?

I’m around 13 years old and I’ve finally been able to start piano lessons as a complete beginner. How long will it take to transition to each grade assuming I’d put 10 hours of practice in per week for the first sixth months and gradually increase that? And then how long would it take to get to Grade 8? I’m really really passionate and dedicated to this because I want to write songs on the piano as well! The exams are in December, and there’s two and a half months, and I wonder if it’d be possible to get Grade 1 in that time?
Reply 1
Original post by FlyingSquirrel10
I’m around 13 years old and I’ve finally been able to start piano lessons as a complete beginner. How long will it take to transition to each grade assuming I’d put 10 hours of practice in per week for the first sixth months and gradually increase that? And then how long would it take to get to Grade 8? I’m really really passionate and dedicated to this because I want to write songs on the piano as well! The exams are in December, and there’s two and a half months, and I wonder if it’d be possible to get Grade 1 in that time?

In my younger days I started at age 12 to study for grades and I reached Grade 6 at age 20 but then again I hardly did 10 hours of practice per week. At the end of the day it's all about how much practice you do.
Original post by FlyingSquirrel10