The Student Room Group
The reception
Heriot-Watt University
Visit website

Age of other students at university in Scotland

Hi sorry to ask, I live in England but am planning on studying university at Heriot-Watt University I am looking at doing an undergraduate course in international business and will enter into the first year of a 4 years masters degree course. I am currently studying A levels in year 13. I have recently found out that many Scottish students start university at 17 or sometimes even 16. I will have just turned 18 when I join and would currently be in S6 if I was in Scotland but have heard some join University after S5. Do any of you know how likely it is that most of the graduates will be from S5 as I am worried that I will be the one of the only 18 year olds in my year
hardly any people start uni at 16/17 most wait till after S6 so you won't be out of place
The reception
Heriot-Watt University
Visit website
Barely anyone actually starts uni before 18. You'll be fine.
Original post by Jamiefl2006
Hi sorry to ask, I live in England but am planning on studying university at Heriot-Watt University I am looking at doing an undergraduate course in international business and will enter into the first year of a 4 years masters degree course. I am currently studying A levels in year 13. I have recently found out that many Scottish students start university at 17 or sometimes even 16. I will have just turned 18 when I join and would currently be in S6 if I was in Scotland but have heard some join University after S5. Do any of you know how likely it is that most of the graduates will be from S5 as I am worried that I will be the one of the only 18 year olds in my year

Hi!

I'm currently in my second year at Heriot and it's so great!