The Student Room Group
Student at University of Edinburgh
University of Edinburgh

Scottish University 2nd Year Entry

I am an English student wanting to apply to the University of Edinburgh. I have seen that most students in Scotland go to University when they are 17. I will be 18. I am applying to economics and my A levels are A*A*A in maths, physics and economics. Is it the normal case that many English students apply for 2nd year entry?
I went to Edinburgh, and most of the Scottish students starting first year after S6 (Year 13) were 18 and had done Advanced Highers (A level equivalent), so I wouldn’t worry too much about the age thing. If you are born ~Dec 2005/Jan 2006 or later you’ll be the same age as the Scottish students - a few of the younger Scottish students will still be 17 and turn 18 during semester 1, as the Scottish years don’t line up exactly with the English ones (although I found they were just as mature as the 18 year olds). It is also possible for Scottish students to go after S5 (Year 12) but I didn’t meet anyone who did that.