The Student Room Group

Degree apprenticeship chances with low GCSEs but good BTEC grades?

So my situation is, when I came into the country (12/2021), I got enrolled into into a Level 2 ICT course alongside with GCSE Maths and English in a college.
After 4-5 months, I was already sitting the GCSE exams. I wanted to do higher maths as I have always loved maths(strange right), but the teacher didn't let me as I came late, I was told I can do it next year.

I got 5 for English, 5 for Maths. In the upcoming year though, I wasn't allowed to retake GCSE, just maybe in other college for high prices, so I eventually didn't go for it.

I am now in my second year of BTEC L3 Extended Diploma in IT. For my first year I got D*(all 6 units D) and my predicted grade is expected to be DDD.
I am looking for a degree apprenticeship in software engineering, however, I am a bit afraid that I might not get one because of my low GCSE grades. I am trying to counteract that with the fact that I have some coding background, I have been learning web development by myself for years, I participated in a web competition, which resulted being in the top 10.
I am focusing on 'selling' by myself with my skills, but I am still afraid.
Original post by MarkKiss
So my situation is, when I came into the country (12/2021), I got enrolled into into a Level 2 ICT course alongside with GCSE Maths and English in a college.
After 4-5 months, I was already sitting the GCSE exams. I wanted to do higher maths as I have always loved maths(strange right), but the teacher didn't let me as I came late, I was told I can do it next year.

I got 5 for English, 5 for Maths. In the upcoming year though, I wasn't allowed to retake GCSE, just maybe in other college for high prices, so I eventually didn't go for it.

I am now in my second year of BTEC L3 Extended Diploma in IT. For my first year I got D*(all 6 units D) and my predicted grade is expected to be DDD.