The Student Room Group

Should I do a PhD?

I got an overall merit in my master's at Durham University! The year prior, I received a 2:1 in my bachelor's at the University of East Anglia. Both are Politics and IR and Politics respectively.

So, I'm quite happy, but I probably won't do anything academic for the time being as I feel exhausted from being in education for the past 20 or so years of my life and I feel like venturing off into the 'real world' for the time being. However, since basically the rest of my life has now artificially, but truly 'begun' i.e being an actual adult, I am just weighing up on what I could do in the future. I have already thought about other things, but a PhD is something that I would like some opinions about.

Firstly, is it possible with my grades to do a PhD in a subject surrounding politics? Obviously there are more factors that matter, but I do want to know if my grades are enough to do a PhD.

Secondly, should I do one and how much of a leap it is between a full-time PhD and a full-time MA?

And finally, am I better off doing a PhD in a russell group university or universites that are not in that category? (I've experienced both, so I know what they're both like in numerous aspects)

All opinions are welcomed and I look forward to hearing them! I appreciate it might not be a question about a specific application, just wondering what people's opinions are. Although keep in mind, this is something for the future and nothing immediate.
(edited 6 months ago)
Reply 1
The grades are just about enough for a place but almost certainly won't be enough for funding, so that's something to seriously consider. In general, the supervisor(s) matter more than the specific institution, but you have to bear in mind that not all institutions are created equal in terms of library and resource access.