The Student Room Group

Graduate Role Application Anxiety

I wondered if anyone could maybe help me out.

I've been really struggling since University (I graduated in July with a 2.1 BSc Comp Sci). (21M)

I'm currently going through the process of applying to various schemes such as Bupa, BT, Aviva, Tesco to name a few. I'm incredibly worried about what will happen if I don't get any of them. I am awaiting the results of video interviews for most of them, which will then tell me if I will be put forward for the assessment centre. The anxiety of this is absolutely killing me and I feel like I have let my parents down for not having a job.

Am I totally doomed? I feel a lot of pressure, even though I have very supportive parents and friends.

Any help would be massively appreciated. I also realise this is almost certainly my own fault.
Original post by Anonymous #1
I wondered if anyone could maybe help me out.

I've been really struggling since University (I graduated in July with a 2.1 BSc Comp Sci). (21M)

I'm currently going through the process of applying to various schemes such as Bupa, BT, Aviva, Tesco to name a few. I'm incredibly worried about what will happen if I don't get any of them. I am awaiting the results of video interviews for most of them, which will then tell me if I will be put forward for the assessment centre. The anxiety of this is absolutely killing me and I feel like I have let my parents down for not having a job.

Am I totally doomed? I feel a lot of pressure, even though I have very supportive parents and friends.

Any help would be massively appreciated. I also realise this is almost certainly my own fault.

Hey there! Just wanted to give you a heads up that I've been in the same boat as you (though I graduated back in 2022 lol). Totally normal to feel a bit overwhelmed during the whole job application process.