The Student Room Group

Biomed Foundation Year Personal Statement - need help

This is a bit of a mess so please bare with me.

I finished my A-levels this year and I wish to start university in 2024, taking a little break in between (mainly due to mental health and needing to earn a little bit of money)

I took Media studies, Photography and I studied Economics (and took a Business exam due to my grades falling) and ended up with a BBC.

I originally wanted to take Biology, Chemistry and Maths for A-levels but my family pressured me to take 'easier' subjects as they didn't believe I'd achieve well in what I wanted to do. I struggled a lot during GCSE as I was mainly in lockdown for the last two years, but my grades were fine. I was also struggling with my mental health and I didn't feel encouraged enough to take what I wanted to take .. I wish I could change that. After finishing my A-levels I realised that I have the ability to do what I want if I try.

I'm in the middle of drafting my personal statement and I'm struggling a lot as I don't have any experience nor any subject in relation to biomed. I haven't been able to get a job either, and I don't have valid proof of my residency here yet. I have an indefinate leave to remain I'm just waiting on a BRP permit, so I haven't been successful in volunteering in the NHS prior to my uni application. I haven't read any books specifically besides forums online, most 'books' I've read have been my friends A-level biology textbooks and books on astronomy.