The Student Room Group

Self Studying and problems with focus

Hello, I am studying A levels externally and I am really finding it hard to focus lately. I dont know what is going on but my maths lately has been going downhill. I make silly mistakes like missing a power, negative sign, integral limits, all sorts. I'm usually very good at the subject and I just don't know why this is happening to me, are there any tips or advice someone could give me? Because I know the content very well, just when I sit down and do questions I either cannot focus well, lose focus or just screw up royally and it is really messing with my head.
Original post by OOgaBooga33
Hello, I am studying A levels externally and I am really finding it hard to focus lately. I dont know what is going on but my maths lately has been going downhill. I make silly mistakes like missing a power, negative sign, integral limits, all sorts. I'm usually very good at the subject and I just don't know why this is happening to me, are there any tips or advice someone could give me? Because I know the content very well, just when I sit down and do questions I either cannot focus well, lose focus or just screw up royally and it is really messing with my head.

The biggest issue you are facing right now is worrying about how you are doing. So many people I know go into this trap of thinking so bad about how they are doing. I remember having this phase in GCSEs where I was getting terrible marks in my sciences. I was mentally struggling and finding it hard, but I talked it out to my teacher and I still remember what he said in clear words. What he said was to not overthink your shortcomings, but focus on what you can improve on. That gave me the surge to try harder and stop thinking negatively.