The Student Room Group
Student at University of Edinburgh
University of Edinburgh

What is studying in Edinburgh like?

I was wondering what studying at the university of Edinburgh is like since I don't know anyone who has gone. If anyone has any advice or info about finding cheap accommodation, social life or just general things you think is important to know before attending please lmk
Reply 1
I'm a first year law student at UoE currently, I'll try to give some advice but bear in mind studying law/vet/med can be slightly different to other courses!

Socially, there are a bunch of different societies. I know there are lots of 'diversity' societies (I say this meaning societies for a particular marginalised group e.g. JSoc for Jewish students, the various chinese/Asian societies, PrideSoc, etc.), as well as a bunch of different sports (both BUCS and casual!) and general hobby-based societies! There was loads on during freshers so you had the chance to try out lots :smile:

As it is a city uni you do really have to put yourself out there to meet people as accommodations are rather spread out (and many non-uni run student accommodations that are run by partners like Unite Students and CRM Students actually have students from the other Edinburgh unis I believe!) but equally there are lots of great places to meet people either during freshers or in societies!