The Student Room Group

Starting university with pre existing mental health difficulties?

I am a year 13 student looking to go into uni in September - I applied to four Russel Group universities and one non RG and received offers from all of them. Academically, I am not doing too bad - I understand the content of all of my A levels and get good grades (predicted grades AAA). However, I am worried about starting university this year.

Since around halfway through year 12, I have been having a rough time with my mental health, which isn't anything new to me since I have had similar issues in the past years, just never to this extent. While I don't have an official diagnosis, I suppose this could be described as a depressive episode (I am matching all the symptoms of this). My attendance is absolutely horrific at the moment (15%) and my sixth form have been really good at supporting me through this, in that they are letting my poor attendance slide and I get checked in on regularly by my head of sixth form, who is an absolute angel.