The Student Room Group

Durham or Manchester for English?

Hello! :smile: I may be reposting the same thing but I’m not certain…
I am a current Y13 student hoping for 2024 entry for English Literature at either of these amazing universities!! However, I am currently stuck on which one to choose. Any help would be really appreciated. I am predicted A*A*A*.

Here are my current notes! :smile:

Manchester Pros
* Highly respectable university
* Course is amazing
* In the heart of an amazing city
* Large American Studies team
* Founded drama department
* Thriving arts scene within the city
* 6th for employability
* Links to media city?
* Year abroad - possibility of Toronto
* I think I would be happier here
* Students union is viewed far higher
* A more ‘modern’ university

Manchester Cons
* Far less picturesque
* Not as competitive course
* Not as highly seen within the UK
* Close to home
* Lower earnings after the course - £23,000

Durham Pros
* Extremely well respected and seen highly by people
* Competitive course
* General atmosphere of Durham
* Collegiate system
* 12th for employability
* Thriving arts scene within the city (to a lesser extent perhaps)
* SLIGHTLY higher student satisfaction
* Higher earnings after the course - £26,000
* Proximity to Newcastle for something busier
* Scholarship?

Durham Cons
* Reputation as snobby
* Very very very small
* Expensive housing and accommodation
Original post by bill.bear02
I am a current Y13 student hoping for 2024 entry for English Literature at either of these amazing universities!! However, I am currently stuck on which one to choose. Any help would be really appreciated. I am predicted A*A*A*.
Manchester Pros
* Course is amazing
* 6th for employability
* Links to media city?
Manchester Cons
* Far less picturesque
* Close to home
Durham Pros
* Competitive course
* Collegiate system
* 12th for employability
* Scholarship?
Durham Cons
* Reputation as snobby
* Very very very small