The Student Room Group

English Literature Warwick or Bristol

Help me decide which one is better for English Literature and overall study plan in Warwick or Bristol which I like the both courses. I’m an international student by the way.

Warwick’s pros:
- the subject rank is much higher and top 10 even 3 in UK
- The lecturers have more credible resume (awards and grants) and publications
- The required module is lesser which could be a con too.
Warwick’s cons:
- Ugly building
- Looks like far from anywhere like is it a safe place to go at night there?
- idk about the internship opportunity which I plan to do

Bristol pros:
- Seems like the student amount in the course is lesser and more exclusive
- The students may be more intelligent and passionate (based on what I search on their social media) which may be a con too
- The buildings and city vibes are very very cool
- It’s a city uni which I prefer to go to
- seems like alot of festivals and opportunities for artists
Bristol Cons:
- Subject rank is much lower even compared to the unis that have lesser overall brand reputation
- The lecturers’ resume are not that impressive (it is still great tho) as the lecturers from Warwick
- Very low satisfaction students rate in the internet poll (for the subject and staff, not for the lecture).
(edited 4 months ago)
Original post by Fkurn92
Help me decide which one is better for English Literature and overall study plan in Warwick or Bristol which I like the both courses. I’m an international student by the way.

Warwick’s pros:
- the subject rank is much higher and top 10 even 3 in UK
- The lecturers have more credible resume (awards and grants) and publications
- The required module is lesser which could be a con too.
Warwick’s cons:
- Ugly building
- Looks like far from anywhere like is it a safe place to go at night there?
- idk about the internship opportunity which I plan to do

Bristol pros:
- Seems like the student amount in the course is lesser and more exclusive