The Student Room Group

2.2 in BSc Biomedical Science - What jobs to do?

I studied Biomedical Science at a non-IBMS accredited university and obtained a 2.2 classification. A non-IBMS course means I can't work in an NHS lab straight away, however I had no intention of doing this anyway. Last year I obtained a Masters of Public Health degree.

I was wondering if there are any other BMS graduates out there who obtained or know of someone who got a 2.2. What are you/they doing now? I know my chances at graduate schemes are unlikely, and therefore would be happy to do an entry level job or anything else.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Can you not go to medical school with a masters?
Reply 2
Original post by wannabemed
Can you not go to medical school with a masters?

I think a few places such as KCL accept it, but I've never been interested in becoming a doctor.
Reply 3
Original post by Tabris

What are you doing with your life?
Reply 4
Original post by biomedboy
What are you doing with your life?

That seemed to come out of nowhere? Ha.

My step-dad, who's supposed to be the carer of my disabled mother (from a stroke) also had a stroke. I care for both of them, full-time, so my life is on hold until my step-dad is competent to do what he did before.

Not exactly the best person to ask.
Reply 5
Original post by Tabris

My step-dad, who's supposed to be the carer of my disabled mother (from a stroke) also had a stroke. I care for both of them, full-time, so my life is on hold until my step-dad is competent to do what he did before.

I hope he gets better soon and well done for looking after them. :smile:
Original post by Tabris

Well done. I have a lot of respect for you for stepping up like that. Hope your situation improves.
There are a lot of things you can do. For advice you should really be more specific about what you want to do.
Reply 8
Original post by Llamageddon