The Student Room Group

No motivation, bored, lazy and stupid.

Hello all, I'm in my second year of my computer science degree and I want to quit so bad. I HATE my course like you wouldn't believe. It's totally boring, difficult and to learn a new chapter just sounds like a complete chore. I am constantely tired and have no motivation at all to learn.

Ontop of that I am a lazy person when it comes to studying. I have an assignment for C++ due in 6 days and I've been trying to do it for 2 weeks and I'm just bored of this crap. It's too difficult for me, I don't find it interesting and as it stands right now, I'd much rather take a job stacking shelves in Tesco.

I've never had the ambition to be something special and I live an incredible cheap, simple life. The thing my friends tell me that I'd be stupid to quit after doing 2 years, but the thing is I'm so bad at computer science that I'd most likely graduate with a 3rd which is just pathetic.

I'm really on the verge of just quitting and looking for a job in Tesco or something. All I can say is well I tried my best but I really can't do this anymore. I think for the first time in my life I'm depressed :frown: Everything is just getting ontop of me!!
do what makes you happy! however, there maybe more issues...when someone feels depressed it is easy to lose motivation and inspiration - so try working on your self-esteem first - either by talking to someone or just changing you lifestyle eg. workout, eat better....also, mindfulness may reduce how you feel!

you will feel like this several time throughout your life, you can deal with it, or just run away from it.

the choice is yours :smile:

best wishes
Reply 2