The Student Room Group

Oxford students with Braces

Hello I am a student in my last year of school. My orthodontist told me I am going to have to wear braces for the next 2.5-3 years. The thought of wearing braces for half of uni is making me so ill and depressed and I just cannot concentrate on anything but this right now. All my life I have been self-conscious of my smile and have rarely done so- nobody has ever really liked me because they think I am a moody **** with a dead personality. My time at university is supposed to be the best time of my life and it will just be thrown down the drain now. I can't do this **** all over again. I want to cry so much right now.
What do I do? throw away my offer from Oxford or the best years of my life.
Please, please can someone who is already there post some comforting advice; :frown: I dont want to make a decision I am going to regret for the rest of my life.

Thanks for any response.

Edit: Are there a few people at least (except me) that wear them?
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 1
Ask your orthodontist whether there are less visible braces you could have than the traditional train tracks - for example tooth coloured ones, or ones you need only wear at night, or ones that go on the inside of your teeth.

But even if not, you should still do it now. There is never going to be a perfect time in your life, but the sooner you start, the sooner you'll be finished.
You don't have to smile with your mouth open, you know. I rarely do.
Reply 3
Original post by Crumpet1
Ask your orthodontist whether there are less visible braces you could have than the traditional train tracks - for example tooth coloured ones, or ones you need only wear at night, or ones that go on the inside of your teeth.

But even if not, you should still do it now. There is never going to be a perfect time in your life, but the sooner you start, the sooner you'll be finished.

No I'm afraid I can't :frown: It has to be train tracks Iv been told
Reply 4