The Student Room Group
Student in the Laboratory, Lancaster University
Lancaster University
Lancaster
Visit website

Fine Art at Goldsmiths or Lancaster? What's Fine Art in Lancaster like?

Hi guys, I need your advice!

I am an A Level student and had applied for Fine Art at Goldsmiths and Lancaster. I got accepted by both and am excited and happy because they're both great places.

BUT

Here's my dilemma. London is dangerously expensive, especially when I am paying as an International student without any fundings. But it's Goldsmiths! The land of the artsy-fartsies and contemporary art and Damien Hirst's jizz - a dream come true for an aspiring artist you might say,

Lancaster is like £5000+ cheaper. But I have no idea what the university has to offer in the art scene, compare to Goldsmiths that is. Please tell me which I should pick I would appreciate it very much!! THanks

TL;DR - If you were a Fine Art student would you go to Goldsmiths and be broke or Lancaster and be alright-ish?
Lancaster and Goldsmiths are very different in terms of Fine Art, the main difference being that the former is much more structured (with briefs and such). If you're set on making a career as a fine artist, Goldsmiths would be a much better choice as the course is firmly directed with this in mind. There are also so many opportunities to exhibit and share your work in London, as well as gaining experience in galleries.
My only expirience of Lancaster is from the open day, but they really seemed focused on more realistic career paths and the academic side was quite dominant. But that doesn't mean you'll never succeed as an artist if you go there. I think the best thing to do is pick the course that you feel is the best fit for you.