The Student Room Group

MacBook needed for a design student?

Wondering if I really need a MacBook to do my design work as a student? I have had my heart set on one for years and would absolutely love one, but being a student, I cannot justify (or afford) the price tag. I will eventually get one one day as every designer seems to have one, and I do believe they handle the software a lot better than the alternatives.

I currently have a very cheap laptop that can barely handle using the Pen tool in Illustrator, so I kind of need a new one quickly. Do I really need a MacBook or are there other alternatives out there for a cheaper price but the same specs/do the same job?
Original post by LisaH97
Wondering if I really need a MacBook to do my design work as a student? I have had my heart set on one for years and would absolutely love one, but being a student, I cannot justify (or afford) the price tag. I will eventually get one one day as every designer seems to have one, and I do believe they handle the software a lot better than the alternatives.

I currently have a very cheap laptop that can barely handle using the Pen tool in Illustrator, so I kind of need a new one quickly. Do I really need a MacBook or are there other alternatives out there for a cheaper price but the same specs/do the same job?

Hi LisaH97,