The Student Room Group

Retake year but nothing to do till resit

To break down my current situation right now, I am an international Third Year pharmacy student that is currently studying in the UK. I was supposed to go into my Fourth year this September. However, the requirement to proceed was that I pass everything from my written to my coursework to my OSCEs. I passed all of it except one station of my OSCE which is a 10 minute assessment of pharmacy practice. With this, the school has told me that I am required to sit out an entire year and wait for the resit which is in next May.

Now, I can understand that I have failed the requirement so I will not argue or appeal as it was my own fault at not passing. But the situation is that I am an international student studying in the UK, which means that I have a Tier 4 visa which was eligible for community pharmacy work.

However, the school has just informed me that they have withdrawn my visa and that I am no longer allowed to be in the UK until the date of my resit because I am now registered as an "exam-only" student which means I do not have to retake any lectures, coursework or labs because like I mentioned before, I did not fail those, I just failed an OSCE station. The year long idleness have caused the school to revoke my visa. This is really shocking to me.

This would mean that I would have basically nothing to do and cannot return to the UK until my resit has come. I really don't want this. Since I was made to retake the year, I would at least think that the logical choice would be to work in a community pharmacy to enhance my competency skills and at least make an effort to improve myself for my resit all the way in May. All in all, it is a 10 minute assessment on a mock situation of BEING A PHARMACIST IN A PHARMACY, what better way to ensure that I don't screw up the next resit by practicing it for 9 months?