The Student Room Group

Which UK university should I consider for mechanical or mechatronic engineering?

I am an IB student and got predicted 37 without bonus points. Right now I am considering Imperial, Bristol, Manchester, Leeds, and Nottingham. However, I want to change imperial to a school that requires lower but still has a good reputation for mechanical or mechatronic engineering. Can you give me some suggestions? UCL? King's? Brunel?
(edited 5 years ago)
Loughborough?
Original post by tesconyc
Loughborough?

Can you give me some more details? The experience there or student satisfaction.
Original post by jamescambodi
I am an IB student and got predicted 37 without bonus points. Right now I am considering Imperial, Bristol, Manchester, Leeds, and Nottingham. However, I want to change imperial to a school that require lower but still has good reputation for mechanical or mechatronic engineering. Can you give me some suggestions?

Bath followed by Loughborough. Amongst the best universities for Engineering. I hope this is not for this years entry as the universities may have closed their books as you have missed the deadline for equal consideration. If it is for september ring each university to check whether they are accepting applications before applying.
Southampton is generally considered on par with Imperial etc for engineering, and has courses in both mechanical and mechatronic engineering. As above Loughborough is very good however as well. Both might be worth looking into as such.
Warwick?
Reply 6
University of Bristol is an excellent university!
Reply 7
Original post by jamescambodi
I am an IB student and got predicted 37 without bonus points. Right now I am considering Imperial, Bristol, Manchester, Leeds, and Nottingham. However, I want to change imperial to a school that requires lower but still has a good reputation for mechanical or mechatronic engineering. Can you give me some suggestions? UCL? King's? Brunel?