UCAT (formerly UKCAT) 2020 entry discussion Watch

ddani01
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hey everyone so from now on in Australia you will have to do the UCAT if you want to get into medicine/dentistry. No unis have set their cutoffs, and I haven't really got a clue of how hard it is. We used to have a 3 hour UMAT exam but it is now switched to UCAT because apparently it is a better exam in determining the best applicants for medicine. So I was wonderig what are usually the cutoffs in each section in the UK, for context I will be applying for a good medicine schools but not the best one out there. There aren't really that many Med schools in my state but the Uni that will be on the top of my list is still known to be one of the best in the state. Also I'm taking the test in the month of July, what do you guys reccomend in terms of how much to study for it. And how hard would you say each section is (I'm not good with shapes). Anway, I'm really nervous for it because I can't talk to anyone who has done it before, since 2019 will be the first year anyone is doing it, so any answers will be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone. Also sorry for the extra long post
KVJ
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Most unis say scores of over 630ish (averaged over the first four sections) and Band 3 or higher (where 1 is the highest) are good
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
medicportaler
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Here's an article I wrote that gives some clarification on the UKCAT:
https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/uni...to-be-a-doctor
In terms of studying for it I'd say about 3 weeks is ideal. The difficulty of each section is very subjective, personally I found abstract reasoning to be the hardest section!
Splishsplash
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago