The Student Room Group

A-Levels :(

So I studied my first year of A-Levels and this September I started my second year. My two years consist of A-Level exams at the end of the second year and no AS Levels during the first year.

I have decided to drop one of my subjects as it’s affecting my mental health and my grades for that subject are really bad. I just don’t want to continue with that subject and want to start afresh.

My sixth form won’t let me drop that subject and go back to Year 12 again. I am willing to study the two year course again and go back by one year.

I’ve since then decided to transfer sixth forms but once I told my teachers of my plan - two of them said that the sixth form will charge me for leaving but they said they aren’t sure how much.

My education is free as I am 17 years old.

The new sixth form that I plan to attend called my current sixth form and asked if they will charge for leaving but they replied back saying no.

Please help me out. Will they charge me for leaving or are they trying to scare me? Also do you know if Sixth Forms are able to let a student go back by one year? I’m stressed out and need advice.

Thank you very much
Original post by ariarasoul20
So I studied my first year of A-Levels and this September I started my second year. My two years consist of A-Level exams at the end of the second year and no AS Levels during the first year.

I have decided to drop one of my subjects as it’s affecting my mental health and my grades for that subject are really bad. I just don’t want to continue with that subject and want to start afresh.

My sixth form won’t let me drop that subject and go back to Year 12 again. I am willing to study the two year course again and go back by one year.

I’ve since then decided to transfer sixth forms but once I told my teachers of my plan - two of them said that the sixth form will charge me for leaving but they said they aren’t sure how much.

My education is free as I am 17 years old.