The Student Room Group

Opinions about GCSE mock results?

Hi everyone,

I just wanted some opinions about my mock grades from December 2019.

I got:

5 and 4 in English
5 in maths (got a 7 last time)
5-6 in Science (also got a 6-6) last time. Chemistry is really letting me down as I don’t get it at all.

7 in geography (predicted and received a 9 already)
6 in Computer Science
Art is a 3, but that I can’t do anything about as it’s coursework and my teacher has already said the grade will go up as I progress.
Thinking of dropping French (as I can do it but I somehow averaging 3 lol)

Are these good enough grades? I know I have a lot of hard work to do with science and maths as I’m aiming for 7s/8s. I’d like to be an architect so maths + science are really important. My sixth forms want 6s in whatever I’m studying at least.

Does anyone have any techniques, advice or notes they can advise me with pls? I’ve already read through a lot of forums on here and have followed the advice of downloading practice papers especially for maths.

My schools created a revision timetable for me so I already know pretty much what to revise. I don’t really like using flash cards but I’ve now excepted that I might have to use them with physics so I can learn the long list of formulas.

I have my first maths paper 1 mock tomorrow too, but I feel like I’m going to flop since I was ill during half term and got literally 0 revision through... any help is appreciated
(edited 4 years ago)
Hi!

This may be useful, to help my maths grade I went through a checklist of all the topics in maths and then went onto MathsGenie and CorbettMaths and printed the exam question of the topics I struggled on the most. Each day I would cover one or two topics and once a fortnight I would try and complete a maths paper as practice. This really helped me pick up my maths grade, in my last mock I went from a low 7 to a solid 8.