The Student Room Group
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford

will one low mark on my transcript mean I can't apply to Oxbridge for a MA?

I consistently get firsts and 2.1s, but in one of my second year modules I got 2.2, quite a low one too :/ I'm in my second year, will one bad mark affect where I can apply for masters, considering I normally get high grades?
(edited 3 years ago)
It's unlikely to rule you out entirely. It might damage your chances if it's in a topic very closely related to what you want to study at master's, or if it brings your overall grade to below 65%, but the thing to remember is that Oxford - or any university application tbh - is about the overall picture. So consider your strengths and positives too, and see if you can maximise those to outweigh the grades you're insecure about. I really wouldn't worry too much!
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford
Original post by hello5789
I consistently get firsts and 2.1s, but in one of my second year modules I got 2.2, quite a low one too :/ I'm in my second year, will one bad mark affect where I can apply for masters, considering I normally get high grades?

Completely depends on the relevance of the module, and your other grades, as the poster above has said. I got my worst mark in a module which is extremely relevant to my masters thesis. One of my friends had to resit a year, and ended up at Oxford for his masters. They know you are human, so as long as the good outweighs the bad, you should be fine. However, if it's an extremely competitive course, this might knock your chances more.
Reply 3
Original post by Sandtrooper