The Student Room Group

Maths in Economics degrees

Hey,

I'm studying Economics & Econometrics at York, which more or less after first year is quite mathematical. However, I had a flick through some past papers, and didn't see any trigonometry at all. I was just curious, does trigonometry appear in economics much, perhaps at a graduate level? Or maybe some other universities include trigonometry in their courses?

Thanks
Original post by econhelp525
Hey,

I'm studying Economics & Econometrics at York, which more or less after first year is quite mathematical. However, I had a flick through some past papers, and didn't see any trigonometry at all. I was just curious, does trigonometry appear in economics much, perhaps at a graduate level? Or maybe some other universities include trigonometry in their courses?

Thanks

I've done a BSc in econometrics and mathematical economics and nah trig isn't really in economics at all, it's one of the maths a-level topics that's basically irrelevant to Econ at undergrad and postgrad. It's mainly calculus, linear algebra and regression (cross-sectional, time-series and panel). The only time I can really thing of trig arising is if your uni course covers the separating hyperplane theorem of some spectral analysis but most unis don't cover this or cover it at postgrad.

At the top unis you'll do some more advanced maths topics like real analysis, measure theory, dynamic programming, graph theory, etc.
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by BenRyan99
I've done a BSc in econometrics and mathematical economics and nah trig isn't really in economics at all, it's one of the maths a-level topics that's basically irrelevant to Econ at undergrad and postgrad. It's mainly calculus, linear algebra and regression (cross-sectional, time-series and panel). The only time I can really thing of trig arising is if your uni course covers the separating hyperplane theorem of some spectral analysis but most unis don't cover this or cover it at postgrad.