The Student Room Group

Graduating uni with a 2.2, what do I do?

I studied in Scotland for 4yrs to get BSc in medical sciences. The first two years I did great despite being quite sick physically (I have endometriosis and had 2 surgeries). My grades were around 1st/2.1. However, after the start of my third year I had a complete nervous breakdown and ended up in psychiatric hospital for a few weeks. I was diagnosed with BPD and PTSD while I was inpatient. I was still able to pull through somehow, despite of the pandemic, getting absolutely no help from NHS and being completely alone and isolated for the rest of the year. My GPA for 3rd year for 2.1 so not that bad but then came the 4th year.

I had close family member die in a car accident midway the 1st semester and I was back at psychiatric hospital again due to suicidal behaviour and being borderline psychotic. At that point my family came to get me home, I had stayed close to uni until then. I got home and was immediately put on sick leave and to intensive outpatient care, where I got extra diagnoses for severe depression and OCPD. I wasn’t able to do my dissertation this year so that will move on to the next one but I had to do my exams during summer resits for this year which are 75% of 4th year grades and I tried but I know my grades for the exams are going to be around 3rd.

One part of me is too depressed to even care but I also know that getting bad grades will effect my future. I just don’t know what to do if I get a 2.2 from my degree despite trying so hard. Any advice? Should I just drop out at this point?

Oh and for our course your final grade is 30% 3rd year and 70% 4th year.
Original post by Anonymous