The Student Room Group

Transfer Medical Schools

Hi, I am currently a first year medical student and extremely unhappy at my university to the point is it affecting my mental health. Constantly having to battle anxiety it has become exhausting. Is it possible to transfer to a different medical school? I don't mind repeating year 1.
(edited 1 year ago)
no
UK medical schools don't accept transfers apart from existing agreed partnerships (St Andrews with their partners and Oxford with the London unis). They also do not normally consider an application from anyone currently on any other UK medical course, and they generally will not accept an application from anyone who has ever started but not completed a medical degree elsewhere. Essentially, if you leave a medical degree you are blacklisted by UK medical schools - it's extremely expensive to train medical students and so they don't take people who start and don't complete the course. Equally they don't accept students from other medical schools as transfers (for first year study or otherwise).

Your options are essentially continue at your medical school or leave medicine. You may want to focus on discussing ways to manage the issue at your current medical school directly rather than avoiding it by looking at trying to go to another medical school (where I'd note it's also entirely possible the same issue would arise anyway). So speak with your personal tutor about the issue(s) and seek support from your uni student support services and/or your GP as appropriate.
Reply 3
Original post by pinkcandyfloss03
Hi, I am currently a first year medical student and extremely unhappy at my university to the point is it affecting my mental health. Constantly having to battle anxiety it has become exhausting. Is it possible to transfer to a different medical school? I don't mind repeating year 1.