The Student Room Group

Is OCR RE A level harder than AQA?

I'm currently studying A level RE (AQA) in the first year of the course (Year 12).
The course so far has been pretty easy; I've gotten A*s in every test.
Right now I'm considering moving to a sixth form (at the start of Year 13) that's closer to where I live and I've found one quite close that will probably have a place. The only caveat is that the school does OCR RE instead of AQA so I'd have to learn some new content. I'd be more than willing to catch up with some content from Year 1 that I've missed but I don't know how much harder/easier OCR will be compared to AQA. I looked up the spec and the content didn't look too bad, the only thing was the tests consist of three 40 mark questions in only 2 hours whereas the AQA tests only have 10 and 15 markers (and they give more time per mark). So i was wondering how much more or less difficult OCR is compared to AQA.
(edited 1 year ago)
Reply 1
OCR is easier. You actually get a choice of questions in the exam in OCR, whereas in AQA you have to answer whatever they give you.

Also the grade boundaries are super high for A* in AQA at around 91%, whereas in OCR they are around 87%.

The OCR topics are also more interesting.. though that's down to personal preference a bit.

Teachers agree with this - there are around 8700 students doing the OCR exam each year in year 13, whereas for AQA it's around 3000. OCR is the preferred choice.

You can find revision notes for both exam boards here: https://alevelphilosophyandreligion.com/
(edited 1 year ago)
Cool, thank you for the reply. I looked over the spec for OCR and it did seem more interesting.
hi, im doing OCR religious studies. im finding the philosophy bit pretty difficult. once you have started the content, would it be ok if you could help me on pm?
Reply 4
Original post by alevelstudent090