The Student Room Group

Structuring an email

Heya!

A level student here! and I really want to study veterinary!
I called up a farm near my school and asked them if they had any work experience placements, they said yes and told me to send them an email (which I did later on in the day)

It has been more than 2 weeks since then and during that time, I called them up again to confirm they had placements available and received the same response.

Are they ignoring my email because it’s not good enough?

I really want advice on my email because I was never really taught how to structure one? So please tell me how I can improve it! Thank you!

“Good morning, I hope this email finds you well.

I am a sixth form student from (my school), studying Chemistry, Biology and Psychology. In the future, I am interested in pursuing a career in Veterinary medicine, as I wish to attain the tools to help me make a positive impact on animals health.
May I ask if there is an opportunity to undergo work experience at this establishment? This experience will help provide insight into working with animals and develop my understanding of this industry as a whole.

I hope to hear from you soon!

Best wishes,”
When I applied for farming work experience, I included why I think I would benefit from it - attributes etc. and I also included a contact number and my email again at the bottom for them to contact me. Otherwise, I think your email is great. You could perhaps follow up with another email to show that you’re still interested - maybe include some dates when your available.

Not sure if this was helpful or not, let me know if you need any help :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by Kat_jan17