The Student Room Group

Is Durham university respected/good?

basically- is Durham still respected overall?
(edited 7 months ago)
Yes, Durham is very much still respected. Academic standards and expectations are very higher. In fact, it’s one of the best universities for theology.

No degree is entirely useless. Most jobs require a degree in anything and Philosophy and Theology make a great foundation for law. Do it if it’s what you like. I can tell you first hand how terrible it is to study a subject you have no interest in just because of its job prospects.

I’m a Durham grad so feel free to ask any questions.
It is a solid Top 11 UK university in terms of respect and prestige.

I would put it in the 8th to 10th range.
Original post by arobrusker
Yes, Durham is very much still respected. Academic standards and expectations are very higher. In fact, it’s one of the best universities for theology.

No degree is entirely useless. Most jobs require a degree in anything and Philosophy and Theology make a great foundation for law. Do it if it’s what you like. I can tell you first hand how terrible it is to study a subject you have no interest in just because of its job prospects.

I’m a Durham grad so feel free to ask any questions.

intriguing (which college you in bro- not even there and feeling the second hand patriotism for Castle)
durham looks pretty cool, what degree did you do?