The Student Room Group

Applying to Durham, Manchester, and York

My question is: I am not entirely sure where the universities of Durham and York are located. Like for example, which town/City? County?, region? Etc are they in and how far are they from South London? I am an international student and so I am not too aware of the many towns and cities in the UK. I have family in South London at the moment so that’s where I will be commuting from to one of these universities. Could someone help me out? Also are the respective areas of these universities good or bad? I have been to Manchester before but never to Durham or York (if there are even towns with those names?). So what are they like? Thanks
Original post by Bo77 Tman
My question is: I am not entirely sure where the universities of Durham and York are located. Like for example, which town/City? County?, region? Etc are they in and how far are they from South London? I am an international student and so I am not too aware of the many towns and cities in the UK. I have family in South London at the moment so that’s where I will be commuting from to one of these universities. Could someone help me out? Also are the respective areas of these universities good or bad? I have been to Manchester before but never to Durham or York (if there are even towns with those names?). So what are they like? Thanks

You will find both of them easily on Google maps. Ditto the distance from south London.

Neither of them are commutable from London. Durham is around 3.5 hours from central London by train and York around 2.5 hours. Both beautiful historic cities but you will need to get accommodation. As above - have a look on google maps.
Reply 3
Original post by normaw
Neither of them are commutable from London. Durham is around 3.5 hours from central London by train and York around 2.5 hours. Both beautiful historic cities but you will need to get accommodation. As above - have a look on google maps.