The Student Room Group
St Salvators Quad, University of St Andrews
University of St Andrews

Cambridge with no scholarship Vs University of St Andrews with full scholarship

Please help me make a choice for my undergrad in psychology. I have conditional offers from Cambridge as well as St. Andrews. No scholarship from Cambridge but full scholarship from St. Andrews. Which should I firm? What is the ROI comparisons? Please help. I am an international student.
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by sumala
Please help me make a choice for my undergrad in psychology. I have conditional offers from Cambridge as well as St. Andrews. No scholarship from Cambridge but full scholarship from St. Andrews. Which should I firm? What is the ROI comparisons? Please help. I am an international student.

What value do you assign to the Cambridge "brand"? If that's less than the value of the St. Andrews scholarship, then firm St. Andrews. If it's more, then firm Cambridge.

This, of course, is if your only motivating factors are cost and "brand".

Have you compared the course content? Which do you prefer?

What do you plan to do after uni, and where? I assume Cambridge is well known in your home country. Is St. Andrews? Will employers there care from which university you gained your degree?
St Salvators Quad, University of St Andrews
University of St Andrews
me personally I would choose the scholarship because you dont have to worry about paying fees. St Andrews is a great uni too!
Original post by DataVenia
What value do you assign to the Cambridge "brand"? If that's less than the value of the St. Andrews scholarship, then firm St. Andrews. If it's more, then firm Cambridge.

This, of course, is if your only motivating factors are cost and "brand".

Have you compared the course content? Which do you prefer?