The Student Room Group

Usa

Does anyone know how to apply for universities in America, I’m a uk student I’ve just done a levels I was wondering what is the process
Reply 1
Most unis u go through common app, some unis like MIT or a lot of the ones in california u have to apply to directly I think?
Original post by randoperson26101
Does anyone know how to apply for universities in America, I’m a uk student I’ve just done a levels I was wondering what is the process

sign up to common app and select the unis you're interested in, then once the applications open it'll show u the questions you need to answer/essays to write
Original post by Anonymous
sign up to common app and select the unis you're interested in, then once the applications open it'll show u the questions you need to answer/essays to write

Yeah but for USA are there entry requirements like we have in the uk like u need AAA to do a uni course but is it the same for USA or is it solely based off those essays ?
Original post by randoperson26101
Yeah but for USA are there entry requirements like we have in the uk like u need AAA to do a uni course but is it the same for USA or is it solely based off those essays ?

they ask for grades but theres not any solid requirements - if youre thinking of ivy leagues then you should be targeting As and A*s. i think you have to provide a 'transcript' but idk if thats just predicted grades/achieved grades
Original post by Anonymous
they ask for grades but theres not any solid requirements - if youre thinking of ivy leagues then you should be targeting As and A*s. i think you have to provide a 'transcript' but idk if thats just predicted grades/achieved grades

Ah alright thanks a lot !!
US admission is very different, and does not have a centralised admissions process or application limit. There is a common application, which will help group some unis and there is different timelines for different unis.