The Student Room Group

How to get better with reading?

This isn't very comfortable for me.

I'm studying drama this September, and I know that reading is an integral part of university life, as it's in every course; I've always struggled with reading. My sister asked to read to my nephew, and the book was for one-year-old; I struggled with reading it to him.

They started taking the mick but it did hurt deep down. How do I improve my reading? Any advice is much appreciated.
Original post by trs200101
This isn't very comfortable for me.

I'm studying drama this September, and I know that reading is an integral part of university life, as it's in every course; I've always struggled with reading. My sister asked to read to my nephew, and the book was for one-year-old; I struggled with reading it to him.

They started taking the mick but it did hurt deep down. How do I improve my reading? Any advice is much appreciated.

Struggle with reading in what way? You would need to be specific.

Are you dyslexic? Do you have problems interpreting words?
If it's a handicap, there are usually university support services that would help you with reading.

If you have a disability, them taking the mick is wrong on multiple levels.

If you have problems keeping up with the reading, I also have speed reading resources to recommend as well.
Reply 2
What I've mainly notice is that if I'm reading something like a book for instance, if I start a new page I read the first line then I find myself reading a different line that's further down the page. I end up getting lost as to where I was and when this happens I struggle with understanding the plot. I don't know why this happens.