The Student Room Group

Apprenticeship : Work permit for international students

Hi everyone!

I’m an international student , thus I don’t have a UK work permit. Some degree apprenticeships require a visa/permit ; however , I don’t get one thing. Is it required before the application , or after I receive an offer? Because , if it is after I receive an offer , I can get the work permit easily by approaching to the embassy. But , as I can’t get the work permit before I receive an offer , there is no way for me to even start the apprenticeship. I hope I was able to explain my dilemma. Thank you!
Reply 1
Original post by Not_creative
Hi everyone!

I’m an international student , thus I don’t have a UK work permit. Some degree apprenticeships require a visa/permit ; however , I don’t get one thing. Is it required before the application , or after I receive an offer? Because , if it is after I receive an offer , I can get the work permit easily by approaching to the embassy. But , as I can’t get the work permit before I receive an offer , there is no way for me to even start the apprenticeship. I hope I was able to explain my dilemma. Thank you!

Hi

The United Kingdom offers a post-study work visa program for international students who have graduated from a UK educational institution. This program, known as the Graduate Route (previously known as Tier 1 Post-Study Work Visa), allows students to live and work in the UK for a period of up to two years after completing their studies.

To be eligible for the Graduate Route, students must have completed a degree program from a UK educational institution, and they must have been enrolled in the program on a full-time basis. Additionally, students must have maintained their Tier 4 student visa status throughout their studies.