The Student Room Group

Veterinary medicine work experience

Hi, I’m currently in my first year of Alevels and I’m really struggling to get any work experience. I have no connections in farming or veterinary. Everywhere I ask turns me down or just ignores me. I have 5 days in a kennels and 4 in a stables so far. Any advice?
Original post by Elizabeth200
Hi, I’m currently in my first year of Alevels and I’m really struggling to get any work experience. I have no connections in farming or veterinary. Everywhere I ask turns me down or just ignores me. I have 5 days in a kennels and 4 in a stables so far. Any advice?

Advice I gave to a similar poster recently:

You have to be persistent. Veterinary practices are common; there are loads around you. Call them first, as it makes a better impression than an email. On this forum at the top, there is a pinned resource thread which gives thorough detail on how to acquire work experience placements for vet med. I recommend you read this: https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=7013645

It's tough. When I was preparing to apply to vet med, I had to ring hundreds of businesses to find the few that would take me seriously. But all vet students had to do it - it's one way the vet schools determine how serious the applicants are. You've got this!

Good luck :smile: