The Student Room Group

Choosing Between Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Science

Hello,
I am a student who had just completed the DP program and moving on into making decisions for universities. I received offers from both King's College London and a well-known local uni in my home country; the offer from KCL is for Biomedical Science (3 years), and the offer from my hometown uni is Veterinary Medicine (5 years, would basically get a certificate after graduating).

I've been eager to get into a Vet Med school or Med School in the UK but failed to get in, as an alternative I decided to apply to the Vet Med in my home country's most famous uni as well as an attractive amount of scholarship. Currently I'm having difficulties in deciding which uni to go to.

To provide some insights about my situation, my dream course is Veterinary Medicine, but recently I had a conversation with a expert in the field of biomedical science, and he said considering the recognition that KCL gets globally, it is much more worthwhile to go to KCL no matter what course I got an offer from from my home country uni. He also talked about the revolutionary impact BioMed can have in the future, including gene, cell therapy and manipulations of exosomes. My plan is to start up a Vet Clinic by myself in the future, and I wonder if it is worthwhile to take the biomedical science course in KCL for the purpose of recognition or does it help in any way of my Veterinary career?

Another issue I have with my home country uni is because of the salary I'll receive as a newbie vet right out of uni, as I would receive more or less the same as a convenience store worker (not saying this is bad, but not ideal as a veterinarian). If I were to go to KCL, and have some short-term work experiences in, would it be more beneficial for the startup of my vet career?