The Student Room Group

Phone interview or face-to-face?

Hey everyone,

I'm an international student and I applied to Homerton College for Land Economy. I stated in my Overseas Application Form that I would not be able to attend the interview. About a month ago, they emailed me saying I'd be 'disadvantaged' since I did not wish to come for the interview. But they made it pretty clear that they will judge my application WITHOUT an interview. I then had to send in written work (just one essay). On Thursday, I received another email from them. They were wondering whether I'd be interested in giving a phone interview since the admission tutors really wanted to interview me. Asked for a selection of dates and my telephone number. Seems hopeful, no?

Anyway, my father and I discussed it and basically he was like if you're going to give an interview anyway, why don't you go and give it? So I emailed them back saying that I'd love to give a phone interview blah blah, but previously, I said 'no' to the interview since the embassy wasn't issuing visas in my country and because I'm having my midterms from the 1st to the 20th of December. I told them that if it was convenient for them, I could give an in person interview, PROVIDED I get the visa in time. The midterms wouldn't be too much of a problem, since my school will agree to let me resit them in January or something. I sent the email on Thursday night, and it's Monday afternoon now. I'm sorta freaking out because I haven't received a reply as yet :frown:. And I'm scared it may be too late to apply for a visa by the time they send me an invitation (if they wish to).

Anyone else in a similar situation? Anyone heard of Cambridge doing phone interviews?

Thanks.
Reply 1
Yes they do give phone interviews. It sound like its quite a complicated situation so you need to give them time (even though you don't really have it).

edit: oh and I've changed your thread title so its actually related to the thread.