The Student Room Group

Can i be a secondary teacher with these qualifications?

Hi, I am in my 3rd of my primary education degree while i do like the degree and the teaching aspect I’m wondering if i did a master in science education if i could be a science secondary teacher or would i have to do a PGCE in secondary science after the primary education degree with QTs and then be able to become a secondary teacher

Edit:The degree does come with QTS
(edited 4 months ago)
Reply 1
Does your current degree come with QTS? I assume it does. So you wouldn’t need to do an additional PGCE if so. Once you have QTS you can teach in any school.
A secondary school’s main concern would be the science qualifications you possess. It sounds like the master’s degree would help a lot. But what other science qualifications (e.g. A Levels) do you have?
Reply 2
Original post by Angelil
Does your current degree come with QTS? I assume it does. So you wouldn’t need to do an additional PGCE if so. Once you have QTS you can teach in any school.
A secondary school’s main concern would be the science qualifications you possess. It sounds like the master’s degree would help a lot. But what other science qualifications (e.g. A Levels) do you have?

Hi there yes the degree does come with QTS. I have also done a btec in applied science.Ok thank you my main concern was if i has to do a secondary PGCE after doing a master is science education. Thank you
Original post by Emma9272
Hi, I am in my 3rd of my primary education degree while i do like the degree and the teaching aspect I’m wondering if i did a master in science education if i could be a science secondary teacher or would i have to do a PGCE after the primary education degree and then become one.

Edit:The degree does come with QTS

Hello @Emma9272