The Student Room Group

What Subjects should I focus on?

I am a Y11 Student who takes: History, French, Computer Science, Food Tech, and Further Maths.

Along with the core subjects, and triple science.
My main focus is on computer science, science, maths etc. I moved to the UK in y10 and am still a bit shaky in some areas, for example, in essay subjects, such as History and English. What should I aim for in these subjects that are irrelevant to me? I am currently at a 5-6 in history and English.
I constantly feel demotivated after performing not as well in these subjects compared to 8s and 9s in computer science, science and maths
(edited 4 months ago)
Reply 1
Sounds like you already know where to focus your time well! Most more prestigious unis would like at least a 6 in maths and English, as well as the subjects relevant to your uni course eg language (assuming university is your goal!!). Of course, a high average would still be needed but sounds like you’ve got that covered anyway. Aim for a 6 minimum in English (and ideally history too) even if you’re going for a science-based subject.
Reply 2
Original post by CrazyAaron
I am a Y11 Student who takes: History, French, Computer Science, Food Tech, and Further Maths.

My main focus is on computer science, science, maths etc. I moved to the UK in y10 and am still a bit shaky in some areas, for example, in essay subjects, such as History and English. What should I aim for in these subjects that are irrelevant to me? I am currently at a 5-6 in history and English.
I constantly feel demotivated after performing not as well in these subjects compared to 8s and 9s in computer science, science and maths

I moved to the uk in yr 10 too and have the same issue as u tbh.how did u get 8s and 9s in csc, math and science😭 tips pleaseee
Reply 3
Original post by a_nzz07
I moved to the uk in yr 10 too and have the same issue as u tbh.how did u get 8s and 9s in csc, math and science😭 tips pleaseee