The Student Room Group

LIPA or Mountview?

I’m currently in my last year of a-levels and I’m stuck between LIPA and Mountview when it comes to studying at further education? I love both courses for different reasons and my partner is going to university in London so Mountview looks like a good option but the costs are scaring me off a little bit. So is Mountview worth the cost or would I be getting more for my money at LIPA? I don’t want to be apart from my partner but some of the rumours about Mountview are freaking me out a bit.
Have you had offers from both?

Mountview is undoudtedly the most prestigious but the top up fees preclude a lot of people.
Reply 2
Not yet - just entering the audition season now but I like to be somewhat settled in what I’m doing/my plans.
Mountview especially is highly competitive. They have hundreds of applicants and very few places.
Reply 4
Original post by welcometotherock
Mountview especially is highly competitive. They have hundreds of applicants and very few places.

Yes, I suppose that’s true. From what I’ve seen however, LIPA and Mountview have the same 4% acceptance rate. Plus drama school was always going to be a competitive game, so that doesn’t really surprise me.
What I’m trying to figure out really is if Mountview compares to LIPA in terms of its regard in the industry? Would it be a wasted opportunity, if I were to get offers back from both, to choose Mountview over LIPA, or vice versa?
Depending on whether we are talking straight acting or musical theatre the most highly regarded places are RADA, LAMDA, Mountview, GSA, Bristol Old Vic & Central (with Arts Ed added for MT).

LIPA I would say is in the next tier down, still well regarded but not top tier.
Reply 6
Depending on whether we are talking straight acting or musical theatre the most highly regarded places are RADA, LAMDA, Mountview, GSA, Bristol Old Vic & Central (with Arts Ed added for MT).