The Student Room Group

delete

delete
(edited 3 months ago)
Original post by riker123
I studied at Bristol got a 2.1 in engineering but feel my uni is not as respected as i was led to believe and i regret not attending a better uni when i had the chance like durham when i first applied or ucl in my second year when i reapplied. I am now due to start a job in data but I feel im lacking that prestige wow factor even though i did a hard course at bristol and got A*A*A in my alevels (bristol is also one of the best in the country for my course not that people know that). I just thought bristol was more recognised that it seems to be where ive seen people rank it below places i though it was at least on par with or if not better than like warwick, exeter, KCL, even the likes of brimingham or nottingham. so my questions are:

should i do a masters at a more recognised place to improve my long run career options?

why is bristol not as recognised as i thought it to be?

Generally speaking, employers don't care where you went to uni. If you were hoping the perceived "prestige" or "reputation" of Bristol was going to open doors for you, I suspect you'll be disappointed.

Have you been been struggling to secure a job? If so, it's very unlikely to be because of the university you attended.