The Student Room Group
Students on campus at Loughborough University
Loughborough University
Loughborough

psychology at loughborough

I’m thinking of firming my offer for studying psychology at lboro just wondering a few things..

- would the first year be a bit dull for someone who’s just done a level psychology? I would be turning down offers at quite prestigious unis and my parents are worried I won’t be pushed enough (imo a chilled first year doesn’t sound too bad lol)
- I know there are optimal modules offered; how long do these go on for? is it a significant part of the content or just a few extra lectures?
- and generally for studying there any thoughts on which accom is best? I was planning on self catered, do they all have a pretty good friendly vibe?
Hiya!

I currently go to Loughborough, and although I study Chemistry and not psychology, I do work with the Vice Chancellor for Education and Student Experience, so I have a lot of knowledge about the module system.

1) Obviously, I can't comment on the actual content of the Psychology modules, but rest assured that the level of difficulty will quickly pick up. Semester 1 will be mostly about bringing everyone up to the same level, as you'll find people from different countries around you who will all have done different syllabi. Semester 2 is when the content difficulty will start to pick up.