The Student Room Group

A-Levels for strangers ?

Hello,
I am a french student and I am 15, in year 11. I want to go in Brighton next year for 2 years to try to have the A-Levels and to go after in a british university. But I am not bilingual but my english level is good! So in england do they accept strangers students in their school? And if they do is it possible to have english courses for strangers and the same courses as british students as well?
I REALLY NEED YOUR HELP! PLEASE....
Thank You. :-D
Reply 1
First of all, you need a visa, your family (you are too young unless your family pays for a private boarding school) You're 15 years old. You need equipvemnt of GCSEs A* to C. Brighton course is probably long distance. This is a rash decision to make on your part. Your parents will have to pay for everything over here. Sort out your problems in France, and come to the UK when 18 to go to uni for university. :smile:
Reply 2
etrangeres = foreigners in this context. Not strangers.
Reply 3
they don't need a visa if they're from France.
and yes, you can come and study here, but it would have to be a boarding school, in all likelihood, unless your family are moving here too.
KwungSun
etrangeres = foreigners in this context. Not strangers.

ohhhh right, I just thought she was planning to lurk around brighton parks and offer little kiddies sweets if they "come and see her puppy"...
If you want to do A levels here then do it! Don't let anyone put you off. But, as has already been said, unless your family move here too, you will probably find it easier to join a boarding school or else you'll have to find youth accomodation.

I don't think GCSEs are necessarily required, as I'm pretty sure you can use equivalent qualifications that you'll get when you finish school in France.