The Student Room Group

Teaching in a private school - am I a good candidate?

I graduated from university last year and am currently doing a GTP at a good secondary comprehensive school, teaching from year 7 to A-level. I really want to work at a private school next year (in London) because I prefer teaching academically able students. So far I have been rejected from two top London private schools without interviews, and have been interviewed at one (back in November); I was one of five interview candidates but didn't manage to get the job. Obviously competition for these jobs is fierce, but I was just wondering whether I actually have much chance.

I think the things in my favour are:
I have an Oxford degree, good A-levels and a lot of enthusiasm for my subject
I have three years experience teaching very able students at a language school
I have welfare experience as a Nightline volunteer at University, so could make a pastoral contribution
I am young and fresh so could be easily 'moulded' by a school

I think the things against me are:
I'm a trainee so don't have a huge amount of experience and would be an NQT when the school took me
I can't offer some of the extra-curricular activities that private schools like teachers to be able to do, e.g. sport and music
I'm not currently working at a private school

What do you think, am I a reasonable candidate? Is there anything I can do to improve my chances?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I don't know anything about how teachers are hired, state or independent, but to me it sounds like you just need more experience. Obviously I may be totally wrong though.

dreamqueen

What did you teach there? English as a foreign language?

Edit: did you write this:

I really want to work at a private school next year (in London) because I prefer teaching academically able students.