The Student Room Group

US equivalent to first or 2:1?

I'm an American student hoping to do my postgrad studies in the UK. I'll talk to my advisors more about this once I get back to school, but just out of curiosity--does anyone know what the US equivalent would be to a first or upper class second degree? Thanks!
My understanding is that a 1st class degree is generally regarded as an A, so I'm assuming that a 3.5, which is roughly 90%, is a 1st.

I suppose anything between 3.0 and 3.49 is a 2:1.

I might be completely wrong, though.
Reply 2
Oh goodness, I hope you're not! That would be great!
Reply 3
Check this out mate: fulbright

Although every uni has their own conversion rates or ask you to convert your grades using a formula or something similar.
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 4
Thank you, that's very helpful!
Reply 5
Original post by rolltide12
I'm an American student hoping to do my postgrad studies in the UK. I'll talk to my advisors more about this once I get back to school, but just out of curiosity--does anyone know what the US equivalent would be to a first or upper class second degree? Thanks!

I think the above reply is about right. BTW, I noticed your roll tide username. Not something you see a lot around these parts :tongue: I just graduated from Mississippi State, so I just wanted to say hi to a fellow Southerner :wink:
Reply 6

The Fulbright website is right. However, it depends on which university you want to go to. Some of them have different scales, so be sure to check.
Reply 7
My offer from Cambridge equated a 3.7/4 with a first.
Reply 8
Original post by anna918
I think the above reply is about right. BTW, I noticed your roll tide username. Not something you see a lot around these parts :tongue: I just graduated from Mississippi State, so I just wanted to say hi to a fellow Southerner :wink:

Thank y'all for your help! And Anna, I'm actually from MS! It's great to hear from a fellow southerner! Are you studying in the UK right now?