The Student Room Group

Insurance claim, i am truely in the ****. help !

So the other day i was going onto a mini round about. this guy came quite fast from the right and hit my door. he tried braking but couldnt stop. i seriously didnt see him. his wife in the passenger seat was also pregnant. anyway the damage to his car was literary nothing. a broken number plate only. i said ill pay for his damage etc and not go through insurance. regardless we called paramedics and got his ife checked up. he texted me later to say she was fine and that no one was injured and asked for my insurance details. i gave him those. he then went onto make an injury claim. i dont know what the figure is but it is going to be big.

Now my problem is if i lose this case which im likely to do. My insurance company will investigate my policy. im a named driver and my insurance has a lot of holes which will most like void my insurance. only reason this is because insurance on my name in my area is 400 a month cheapest. i simply cannot afford that.

Does any one have any suggestions on how i can end this situation? I dont want to have to pay 10, 20 grand and have my license, insurance and credit record completely ruined before my life has even started. what can i do? My parents are not very healthy either and wont take well to any sort of bad news. someone help?
It's best to go through your insurance company. As long as you have a valid policy and were allowed to be driving the vehicle, they will cover the 3rd party damage. If I were you, I would talk to your insurance company as soon as possible. Report the accident and see what happens. By offering to pay for the damage to his vehicle it might be construed as admitting guilt, which will mean that you will have already lost. But whatever way it might work out, you have to go through your insurance company.
Reply 2
I don't think you can :s-smilie: unless there was proof he was driving too fast...
Reply 3
Original post by Mr lova lova